Costa Women Meet … Evi Weyhe

Having her own ‘Out of Africa’ experience in Spain, meet Evi who believes in the importance of rising every time we fall.  Read her story

 

How did you end up living in Spain?

After 26 years of having lived and worked in East Africa, I thought it was time to return to Europe. I am a German national, however, as I had left my home town Munich early in life, I considered Europe to be my “Heimat”. I decided for Spain, because in many ways it reminds me of Africa. Also my son had to finish his school and we moved to Estepona.

 

Where are you based?

Until this summer I had always lived around Estepona, with one break of 4 years, where I lived outside Tarifa. Both places are really fantastic to be. This year I decided to try the east side of Malaga and I rented a little house between Torrox and Frigiliana a bit in the campo. It is a stunning place to be, landscape, climate, the pueblos Frigiliana, Torrox and Nerja gorgeous, so far I like it!

 

Biggest challenge and how did you overcome it?

No real challenge, beside the language which I learned quickly, by working in a Spanish business.

 

What would be your advice to Women thinking about moving to Spain?

For me it is absolutely essential to speak the language. It makes life so much easier and shows respect to the Spanish people.

 

How do you spend your days?

I am retired now. I like writing, have published several books about Africa and Andalucia, I love my little garden, love discovering new places around, meet new people. Before I met my new partner recently, I used to travel around in my camper exploring Spain, accompanied by my dogs. In Estepona I arranged events in my house, charity lunches, literature readings, etc. Now my house is too small for such arrangements. I have a lovely guesthouse for 2 people which I rent out for weekenders or holiday makers. 15 min. to the beaches and villages, great view to the sea and mountains. Photos can be viewed on my website (in German language only at the moment): www.andalusien-individual.com

 

Something you are grateful for?

I am grateful for my health, my children and 4 grandchildren, my partner and my life!

 

Your special dinner table – who would you invite?

First of all I would invite my family and closest friends, Guest of honour would be Karen Blixen (Out of Africa). I would serve a mixture of German/Andalusian and African dishes.

 

Your secret weapon?

I am good in networking and bringing people together.

 

Quote which makes a difference to you?

“The greatest glory in living lies not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall.” – Nelson Mandela

 

What did you have to bring to Spain with you and would never give away?

I brought lots of African paintings and art objects, which remind of a very special, valuable time in my life. But also memories, letters, silverware etc. from my family are always traveling with me.

 

Favourite Book?

I love Karen Blixen´s book “Out of Africa”, beautiful language written with a great passion for Africa.

 

Something you would tell your younger self?

I would tell my younger self not to jump to a new subject, before ending the one I work on.

 

Where can we find out more?

My website www.andalusien-individual.com and

Connect with me at Facebook

 

 

Thank you for sharing your story Evi!

 

If you want to share YOUR story with us, please complete the online questionnaire here

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *